Valentine’s Day Poetry


image of someone holding a valentine's day heartHappy Valentine’s Day! Since you’re here at the GeoZone Blog, we assume you are celebrating the occasion in style, so we thought we would give you a special treat—poetry from our technical staff (a.k.a. geeks in residence). The following is a compilation of famous poems given a geospatial spin, songs that never made it, and original works from several of our blog authors and Office for Coastal Management staff. Enjoy.

valentine%20heart

H0w D0 1 L0ve Thee?

by Nate Herold

Based on How Do I Love Thee by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Oh, Binary Data, how do I love thee?

Let me count the ways…0…1.

valentine%20heart

Hurricane Haiku

by Melissa Ladd

Where were storms near you?

You need Hurricane Tracks Tool!

This Valentine’s Day.

adorkable card

valentine%20heart

An Ode to Metadata

by Matthew Carey

Oh Metadata! How My Love for You Has Grown.

As an undergrad I ignored you so.

Your endless lines of text did not dazzle and excite my mind,

Like the vibrant and voluptuous vectors that I lusted after those many years ago.

As I matured through my graduate experiences I learned that although beautiful,

Those entrancing polygons were meaningless without the data about data I needed so.

When I was lost and abandoned. Not knowing what “fhh_norm_lp” meant to represent.

You embraced me, and tenderly showed me, “Female headed households normalized to the number of light poles” was the author’s intent.

It is true that every now and then my appreciation for you dims.

But, with the hair pulling frustration caused by your absence my need for you is shown.

Oh Metadata, how my love for you has grown.

valentines%20day%20cupid

valentine%20heart

The Electromagnetic Spectrum Reflect Infrared

by John McCombs

Based on Roses are Red

Vegetation reflects infrared

The sky scatters blue

Mid-IR is great for wetlands

Electromagnetic spectrum we love you

valentine%20heart

Ode to Marine Cadastre

by Cindy Fowler and David Stein

Twinkle, twinkle little app, how I love you ocean map.

Overlay the boundary line, raster vector you combine.

Pulling services near and far, your geo-caching is a star.

Help our country plan for wind, could be CMSP in the end.

Thank you, thank you everyday. You’re our hero in everyway.

valentine%20heart

Valentine’s Day Data?

by Melissa Ladd

Romantic Night In!

Spent provisioning data?

Spouse begs to differ.

ultimate geeks love card

valentine%20heart

Registry Romance

by Anna Verrill and Nikki Hefner

A GIS file

As romantic as can be

Found in registry

valentine%20heart

The Tide

by Maryellen Sault

The tide comes in

The tide goes out

Shifting sand, there is no doubt

Mapping the mean high water line

With photography and lidar combined

Creates a detailed accurate vector

That serves as the land and water connector

Ensuring safe navigation

For every generation

Is why I love shoreline mapping

And that, my friend, is worthy of hand clapping!

valentine%20heart

Shot Through the Heart

by Tashya Allen
Sung to Bon Jovi’s “You Give Love a Bad Name”

Shot through the heart, and you’re to blame, Digital Coast

You give products a good domain name

Not just data is what you sell

You promise me tools, then give me all the trainings as well

Applying it has a hold on me

With Stories from the Field, now I can see what’s going on in Ozaukee

You’re loaded from soup to nuts, yeah

There’s nowhere to run,

No one can save me, the damage is done

Shot through the heart, and you’re to blame, DC

You give data a good domain name

Not just land cover for my geography, but by multiple time frames

You give data a good domain name

You give data a good domain name

Your partners have smiles all over their lips

Because their stuff is on your list

A coastal managers dream, it’s like the fourth of July

Your totally awesome site, I can’t say goodbye

Shot through the heart, and you’re to blame, DC

You give data a good domain name

valentine%20heart

My Data is Like a Red, Red Rose

by Nate Herold
Based on My Love is Like a Red, Red Rose by Robert Burns

My data is like a red, red rose

That’s newly sprung in June:

My data is like a melody

That’s sweetly played in tune.

So fair art thou, my Digital Coast,

So deep in love am I:

And I will love thee true, D.C.,

Till all the sea levels rise.

Till all the sea levels rise, D.C.,

And the hurricane tracks all collide:

I will love thee still, D.C.,

Because resilience planning will have saved my hide.

So fare thee well, Dig Coast,

Fare thee well for a minute or days a few.

But I will visit your website again,

And download data and tools anew!
valentine%20heart

Help us make things a little interesting for our staff…Vote for your favorite by placing that poem’s name in the comments. Please note: Your comment will be placed in moderation and will not show up immediately.

Leave a Reply. Comments are moderated.

